Post-rock and German music

Let me just say one thing. I love post-rock. It’s one of the best genres of music invented ever. But I won’t go into any details why right now. I will also say that I love metal more than post-rock (oddly enough, post-metal isn’t really my thing).  But almost whenever I’m writing, I end up listening to post-rock. I’ve done some of my (IMO) best stuff while listening to Mogwai or Because of Ghosts.

Mostly because majority of post-rock is instrumental. When it comes to topicality, there’s nothing much to guide you aside from the song titles. And when you have a song about well, nothing, can mean… anything. Who’s to say? There are no words. So when I’m writing about Communism in Antarctica, for example, I’d want to listen to something about Communism and something about polar bears. But I’d be hard pressed to find a song like that. Enter the magic of instrumentals, especially the low-key mellowness of post-rock. Now those squeaky guitars are the sounds of penguins fleeing from Polar Bear Stalin. And bam, I have something to write.

The same goes for German songs. Why German? No particular reason, there just seems to be more German in my music than any other language aside from English. Or maybe that’s cause in my head, I filter any other languages into ‘European: Other’. But, the point is if you don’t know what the hell Till Lindemann is saying, he might as well be saying the exact thing you want to hear. If your kitten has just died, wouldn’t you like to hear a famous singer sing a lament just for Wr. Wiggles? Well you can, you just won’t be able to understand it. As long as you know he is. You get your own personal minstrel to sing about whatever the hell you want him to. Broke up with your girlfriend? Passed the bar exam? On the run from the law? Writing something on your blog? Just imagine that’s what the lyrics mean, and you have a song tailored to every possible situation. Songs with no meaning, tend to be the most meaningful ones.

Yes, this entire post was written while I was listening to This Culture of Background Noise and Your House is Built on a Frozen Lake, two awesome albums from the awesome band Because of Ghosts.

Leave a Reply

