This is the first post.

I spent some time thinking of what to write for my first post here. I thought about it for all of five seconds. See, for some reason or another, I tend to make a big deal about first things. And I did NOT want to do that here. Hell, I spent enough time thinking of what to call this blog, and I just want it to spit something out before I go to bed. So I thought, why not make this first post about… first things? Meta… something.

It’s understandable sometimes, sure. First kiss, first car, first life threatening disease. But it does get a bit extreme for me. I got a new phone, who shall I call first? A close friend? Or maybe I’ll ask the sales clerk for her number and call her first. What program should I use first on my new PC? What game should I play first on my new Xbox? This can get REALLY annoying especially around New Year’s. I don’t think of resolutions since I’m not going to keep them anyway. No, I’m thinking of what song I should listen to first this year. And most of the time, I can’t freaking remember what that first song was. It’s something I’ll just have to live with, I suppose.

I think the reason my head has to do this is because it promises, somehow that if I can start something right, the rest of the something will go alright too. Unfortunately, if I start something right, all it means is that I haven’t fucked up quite yet. In fact, most things that start out well end up sucking sooner or later. Pretty much any bands ‘older stuff’ is better than that ‘new crap they’ve been putting out’. Movie sequels are notorious for being horrible. And that goes double for third movies. Same with any TV show that’s gone on far longer than it should. The only things that don’t end up being called shit are the things that end before they have a chance to. Suppose it’s just a matter of knowing when to quit.

That sounds pretty cynical but I guess it all fits in with my current world view. One which can be summed up with a quote from the one and only Veronica Mars.

“Life’s a bitch. And then you die.”

Leave a Reply

